Mais informações sobre o conteúdo Impressão
View of the plenary of the TSE


The Electoral Justice is composed by the Superior Electoral Court (TSE); one regional electoral court (TRE) in every state, in the Federal District and in the territories; electoral judges and electoral boards. These branches have their composition and competence described in the Electoral Code.The TSE has its headquarters in the capital of the Republic, and the TREs in the capitals of the states, in the Federal District and in the territories.

The creation of Electoral Justice in 1932 resulted in a movement known as the Revolution of 1930. Those who worked in the preparation of the Electoral Code of 1932 believed to participate in a historical process unprecedented and unparalleled in the country. The vision of the political practices in the Old Republic was the worst possible. Votes that were controlled by powerful local authorities, currais eleitorais, powerful local authorities and gunmen composed the scenario which the Electoral Justice tried to fight against. Much work had to be done.

In 1937 these works ended and than, they were revisited in 1945, when the democratic experiment was inaugurated in the country. The Electoral Court in 1945 did not start from scratch. An important step was taken in 1932: the construction of the individual vote concept. The equation one person = one vote, established in 1932, became the reason of the Electoral Court. It is behind the efforts in enlistment, elections organization, counting of votes and proclamation of the elects.

To ensure that every vote means the will of a single individual, several instruments were set forth: impenetrable cabins, official ballots, electronic registration of voters, the vote computerization until the biometric identification. The right to vote was being expanded. Since 1988, it is guaranteed to every individual, regardless of gender, sexual orientation, education, creed, color, political or physical condition.