16 days left: Electoral Justice holds 25 Modular Elections throughout the country

eleições 2018

In 2018, besides the General Elections in national and state levels, General “Modular Elections” will take place throughout the country to be formed of 21 municipal elections, three plebiscites and one district election for members of the District Council of the Archipelago of Fernando de Noronha, in Pernambuco. To the Electoral Justice, it means preparing 5 different types of elections what requires the TSE´s Information Technology Department (STI) to modulate the system of the electronic voting machines (EVM). In order to better answer to the demands, the STI developed the Multiple Elections Program (Programa de Múltiplas Eleições, in portuguese) which allows programming the electronic voting machines according to the different needs of each election.

On the first election round, on 7th October, apart from common choices to all Brazilians – President, Governor, two posts for Senator, Federal/State/District Deputy – the voters from Fernando de Noronha will also decide the seven names to integrate de District Council, advisory and inspecting agency, whose existence is foreseen in the Constitution of Pernambuco. In that case, the voters will elect the 6 posts available through the General Election and, then, the Council representatives. It will be the first time both elections will be held in the same electronic voting machine. Previously, the vote for the Council members occurred in a specifically designated ballot. 

In the municipalities of Petrópolis (RJ), Augusto Severo (RN) and Fortaleza do Taboão (TO), voters will participate in plebiscites in the first round. In Petrópolis, they will decide if the carriages known as “vitórias”, which are displayed in front of the Imperial Museum, can continue its activities using animal traction. The other plebiscites will decide on changes in city names. Augusto Severo can have its name changed to Campo Grande and Fortaleza do Taboão could be called Tabocão. Like the voting order in Fernando de Noronha, in these cities the vote on the plebiscite will also be the last, after the voter enters his vote to the positions in dispute.

On October 28, the scheduled date for the second round, the Modular Elections will take place in 21 municipalities that will have additional votes to choose new mayors and vice-mayors. The heads of the Municipal Executive of cities in Amazonas (Anamã and Novo Airão), Ceará (Aracoiaba and Croatá), Goiás (Turvelândia, Planaltina, Davinópolis, Divinópolis de Goiás and Serranópolis), Maranhão (Bacabal), Mato Grosso (Planalto da (Rio Grande do Sul), Santa Catarina (Vidal Ramos) and São Paulo (Araras, Rincão, Monte Azul Paulista and Monguaguá).

The system modulation of the electronic voting machine allowed the development of all variants required for fulfilling the specificities of each electoral section. With that, it was possible for the Electoral Justice to overcome technical and logistical difficulties that existed previously.

One of the challenges the STI had to overcome at the current elections was related to the transference of temporary elections. Cities holding Modular Elections will not have vote in transit due to a population amount inferior to 100 thousand habitants, but all of them will be suitable for receiving the vote of the military, that are allowed to choose their candidates from the place where located for duty. As any other citizen, they are identified by an electoral registry and, when voting, the electronic voting machine will not make available any other option distinct from the ones of their electoral households. For example, a military located at “Araras” due to a temporary transference will not encounter an option for voting on the supplementary mayor election held in the city.